Post by: Mommy Carpio

Today, I had an appointment to meet my new doctor.  Some of you knew that I was unhappy with the midwife that I was dealing with, so I decided to change to an actual doctor, because I feel more comfortable with someone who has a lot more experience.

My new doctor is an older African-American woman with the most beautiful skin I’ve ever seen!  Her face was blemish free – kinda weird for me to say that, but it was the first thing I noticed hehe.

I’m glad I got her – in fact, when I was walking in from the waiting room, I saw her in the hallway and she just radiated this friendliness, and I remember thinking to myself that I was hoping she was my new doctor – and she was 🙂

She came in and asked me how I was doing and I told her I’d been doing good – still nauseous, but it’s starting to subside.  She then told me that today would be the earliest we could attempt to hear the heartbeat.  How exciting!  A part of me was sad that Ed wasn’t with me to hear it if we did hear it, but we have a doppler at home and I decided that if I heard it, at least I would know what it sounds like and be able to find it for Ed to hear.

So, she got the doppler and put it on my abdomen – right above the you-know-what.  I had no clue the baby was that low!  So there goes my theory about my tummy getting bigger ’cause of the baby being there – apparently I’m just getting fatter LOL.  At this appointment though, I had only put on 1 pound since 2 weeks ago at my last appointment, when I had put on 4!! Yikes!

So anyway, she kept looking for the heart beat and I stayed as calm as I could – I realized I was concentrating so hard that I wasn’t even breathing!  She told me to relax, and so I did – and then I heard it!  Er…what I thought was the heartbeat; turns out it was my own pulse.  She said that my pulse was nice and slow and steady, and that the baby’s would be twice as fast.  Unfortunately she didn’t find it (she said the baby probably wasn’t in the position to be heard), so she tried an ultrasound.

She first tried the tummy ultrasound, and we couldn’t see the baby that way.  I suppose I should’ve started panicking at this point, but I wasn’t.  I just had this feeling that everything was gonna be okay.  She decided to do a vaginal ultrasound, and then she found the baby. 

OH. MY. GOODNESS.  Baby Carpio has grown by leaps and bounds!!  She showed me the heart beat which was beautiful and steady and beating perfectly.  And then she pointed something out to me that I didn’t notice – the baby’s legs!  The doctor said “Oh my, look at your baby – she’s a dancing machine!  Look at those legs go!!”  I almost cried, but I was so happy that I couldn’t look away.  She asked if I love to dance, and of course I love to dance!  “Well, looks like you’ve got a dancer in there!  She’s showin’ off, knowing Mommy is looking at her so proudly” hehehe (by the way, she just keeps saying “she” because it’s basically a she for right now, until the boy or girl parts start forming – we don’t know the sex yet, and we’re not sure if we want to find out!  but that’s saved for another blog).  Her legs were kicking up a storm – think of how a kid sits on a swing and they dangle and kick their legs ’cause they’re trying to start swinging – that’s what it looked like.

It didn’t seem real, but it is, and I had to keep telling myself not to scream out loud ’cause I’d probably scare the doctor!  Man, I am so excited.

What I also loved about the doctor was that she didn’t rush me – she asked if I had any questions and I felt comfortable with her because she took the time to explain things to me.  The biggest worry I had right now was my calcium intake.  The baby takes all the calcium it needs from me, but the thing is, I’m not getting enough.  I can’t handle milk these days – it really upsets my stomach.  She said it was okay for me to take a calcium supplement (1,000 mg), so before I went home, I stopped at the Kaiser Pharmacy and bought a bottle that has 950 mg per pill (my prenatal vitamin has 200 mg of calcium in it, so I’m definitely getting enough now).

I feel so happy 🙂  Things are going great, and the doctor said the baby looks wonderful.  That is the best news ever 🙂

