Post by: Mommy Carpio

I feel like I am riding a roller coaster of emotions.  One minute I feel great – just yesterday, Audrey even said I seemed more chipper!  And I did feel better for a while. 

Today, I can barely function.  That sour-stomach feeling is the worst feeling ever.  I am also having a hard time concentrating because I feel so dizzy and lightheaded.

I did check with the nurse, and this is all normal, so I guess I’m glad that it is, but that doesn’t make it any easier to deal with.  I’ve got a headache that lasts all day, and I was never one to take Tylenol because of some stupid headache, but now I would gladly take a few if it meant the pain would go away.  The only thing is, I don’t know if I’m even allowed to take it! 

Aron, my boss, was nice enough to let me go home early.  Poor guy – he probably doesn’t want to hear about all the gross things going on with me, but he understands and lets me leave, even if I don’t have time available.  There’s a lot going on at work, especially with some new projects in our department and I know he needs me here, but seriously?  I’m of no use to him when I can’t even think straight.

Speaking of not being able to think straight, I feel like I’m getting dumber with this pregnancy!  I thought it was the strangest thing, but sometimes people will talk to me and it takes me a little while to process what they said.  Or, I could be reading something, and I have to re-read it over and over again until I can understand what it is. 

I decided to look up why I am feeling this way and see if anyone else had symptoms like this, and this is what I found:

Oh, preggos: It’s not you; it’s your brain!

Feeling more like a spaz now that you’re expecting, and less like the put together woman you once were? Do you find yourself having to make lists for things you once would have remembered off the top of your head, and do you lose your keys, glasses, etc. every single day?

You’re not alone, and it’s not just your perception, or those mommy hormones addling your once-coherent thoughts.

A new book, The Female Brain, published this week in Britain by Bantam Press, says the truth is less romantic: the female brain shrinks by as much as 8 per cent during pregnancy, leaving once capable women sobbing helplessly at home, unable to get out of their dressing gown before noon.

(Tell your husbands to stop snickering now.)

The good news, according to this book, is that your brain recovers six to twelve months postpartum. But…there’s just something profoundly disturbing about the thought that I’m not just a hormonal, incompetent mess. My actual freaking brain is smaller!

Oh, well. Who needs those little gray cells, anyway?

