Post by: Mommy Carpio

If you haven’t heard the song “Hey There Delilah” by Plain White T’s, then you’ve been hiding under a rock.  Just kidding.  What’s funny to me is that they are touting this song as “new”, but it came out last year.  Okay, okay, I didn’t know about it either, but that doesn’t change the fact that I absolutely LOVE this song. 

Know why I love it even more?  Because one of my bestest buddies in the whole world, the talented Miss Audrey (soon to be “Auntie A”) rewrote the lyrics for me one afternoon.  It probably took her a whole 20 minutes or so – but a lot of that was just making sure the words were timed right with the song.

I should’ve posted this when she gave it to me 2 weeks ago, but I haven’t gotten around to it until now.  Here’s the link to the video (I found a bunch of instrumentals, but they didn’t sound as good).  Give it a listen first (if you’re not familiar with the song) and then listen to it again, but this time read the lyrics she wrote.  I started to cry when she sang it to me, ’cause it wasn’t one of my better days, and Audrey always seems to know when I need a little pick me up.

And now, without further ado…”Hey Baby Carpio”

Hey Baby Carpio
Your Mommy is so happy
Knowing you are on your way
Even though she feels quite crappy
Yes, it’s true
Her whole life’s changing ’cause of you
Your daddy’s too

Hey Baby Carpio
These months that you are growing
Such a crazy time for all of us
Just sitting, waiting, wondering
What you’ll be
A boy, a girl, can’t wait to see
How bright you’ll be

Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Just can’t wait to see…

Hey Baby Carpio
I know the wait seems like forever
But just know we’re being patient
‘Cause God’s work is an endeavour
It takes time
To make a star like you begin to shine
And that’s just fine

Hey Baby Carpio
There’s planning underway
About your name, your room, your way of life
For which you’ll have no say
But don’t feel bad
‘Cause you’ve got the greatest Mom and Dad
And they’ll be rad

Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Just can’t wait to see…

I know nine months seems really far
Especially when you’re in the dark
Just listen to your Mommy’s heartbeat dear
It makes a song, it’s just for you
To tell you that she loves you too
And can’t wait until you are finally here
Baby we can’t wait to see
Your smile, your eyes, and all you’ll be
All the world is waiting just for you
And all you’ll do

Hey Baby Carpio
Your life will be amazing
You’ll have all the love that you can take
And so much more that you’ll go crazy
And I can’t wait
To see you grow along the way
I’ll be here for you everyday
Your Auntie A…

Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Oh, we just can’t wait to see
Just can’t wait to see…

Just try and tell me that isn’t fabulous!!  Audrey, if you’re reading this, you are such an amazing friend.  Our baby is so lucky to have an Auntie like you.  I really hope you go back to singing/performing one day, because your talent is endless.  I love you!!

