Post by: Mommy Carpio

Yesterday I went for my 2nd prenatal appointment checkup; unfortunately, I had to go by myself because Ed had to work.  I was going to ask my mom to go, but my sister had already let me know she was gonna take my mom to the beach, so I didn’t want her to miss out on that.  But everything looks really good – Baby Carpio is 1.72 cm, about half an inch.  It is CRAZY how much he or she has grown!  At the first ultrasound, she looked like a polka dot on the screen.  Now, I can hardly see the uterus because the baby and the yolk sack (what they feed off of until the placenta forms) are gettin’ all cozy up in there.  The midwife said the Baby was growing EXACTLY on schedule – not too big and not too small.  As of yesterday, I am officially 8 weeks and 1 day pregnant.  I’ll get Ed to scan the ultrasound pix so you all can see what a difference there was in 2 weeks.

It was really cool.  Of course, I still have all the jitters of being a first time mom, but I was thinking about it last night, and I thought to myself that my mom is gonna be a great teacher, because she was such a good mom.  My dad too – I’ve learned from both of them how to (hopefully) be a great parent, because they were great examples.

In other news, because of my family history, it could be possible that I may get Gestational Diabetes.  This keeps worrying me, because the doctors are going to make me take the test early.  So, I’ve been really watching what I eat – no refined sugar at all, and lessening my intake of carbs.  I can’t cut them out fully, even though I find that easy to do, because you need a lot of vitamins that you get in whole grains and breads to help the baby grow. 

Anyway, if I do get it, at least I know I have a team of good doctors behind me to help take care of me.  And the good thing is that GD goes away after your pregnant!!  So that is something else to look forward to.  I did learn a lot from my Certified Nurse Midwife (C.N.M>) though, because I asked her about my cousin Catherine, who is also pregnant and got GD.  I told her that Catherine was one of the most fit people I know, very active, and not overweight by any means at all – I doubt she weighs more than 100 pounds – so how could she get Gestational Diabetes??  The C.N.M. said it doesn’t matter how skinny or how fat you are – it’s not those extra donuts you ate in the morning or that second helping of rice you had.  It’s all in how your body processes that sugar, and if you have a history of diabetes in your family, it’s more likely that you will develop it.  My C.N.M. herself is overweight and she said she had Gestational Diabetes when she was pregnant with her son, and now she has a 60% chance of it coming back, so she’s trying to do all she can to keep it away.

Anyway, if I do get it, I think I will be okay with it.  Technology today is so advanced, and it’s not like I’m the first person who ever had it if I get it.  At least I know someone will be helping take care of me and the Baby.

Toodles everyone!  I woke up at 5:30 this morning because I decided I don’t like rushing in the morning, so I took Roxy for a walk, ate my breakfast, and now I’m going in the shower.  Hope you all have a great weekend 🙂

