Post by: Mommy Carpio

You thought my middle name was Therese, didn’t you?  Well, it is…but right now, I’ve changed it to Tired.  Or Cranky.  Or Sleepy.  Any of those work.

The days are getting tougher.  I really thought I was going to have it easy, because my mom did and so did my sister – and I guess it has been easy compared to most other women because I haven’t thrown up (came close to it at my in-laws house, but it was more like a dry heave).  Still, as each day goes by, I get more tired and more cranky, and more emotional.  I had a breakdown in my office this morning over something that must’ve been really stupid because I don’t even remember what I was crying about anymore.

Everyone’s being really sweet about my queasiness, though – my co-workers are being super nice to me (they’re always nice, but extra nice these days 🙂 ); and I recently found out that I am out of sick/vacation time at work, so our HR person said she was going to help me sign up for FMLA, which I never even thought of.  This will be helpful so that my absences are not considered “unexcused” in the eyes of my employer.  I have many more doctor’s appointments coming up, so I definitely need the time.

In other news…my appetite is gone again.  It came back for a little bit a few days last week, but it has now disappeared.  Last night I did crave hard shell tacos, so Ed took me to Taco Bell, and then I ended up only eating a few before I had to call it quits.  *Note to self: no more Taco Bell.  You know it kills your stomach; why eat it now, especially when you’re pregnant!?!?!*

I am having a different kind of craving though, and it’s not for food – it’s for Horror Films.  I’ve always been a fan of horror films, but lately I can not get enough of them.  My friend Crisa, who is about 5 or 6 months pregnant, is obsessed with watching cartoons lately, and she said it’s just her body trying to prepare itself for the baby.  So if I’m obsessed with watching horror films, then just what the hell am I trying to prepare for?? LOL

The thought of that did scare me, but I figured it out.  The one holiday that I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE is Halloween.  That whole month, I celebrate by spooking myself silly – you know, ’cause it’s that “feeling in the air”.  There’s all sorts of haunted houses to go to, Knott’s scary farm, scary movies to see, halloween episodes of “Roseanne” to watch on TV, and the ever so important “what am I going to be this year?” costume planning.  I really look forward to Halloween every year – it’s a chance to be someone else and act silly; as soon as Halloween is done, I’m usually starting to think about what my costume is going to be next year.  This year I’m going to have to work the pregnant belly into my costume, so my plans of being Pocahontas is out the door.  All kidding aside – I know why I am craving the scary movies – because Baby Carpio is going to love Halloween as much as I do, and he or she is going to love getting scared (in a fun way!) beacause it’s funny.  I can’t wait to dress him or her up in costumes!!

